Ladies Professional Golf Association

Ladies Professional Golf Association Upcoming Tour

The Ladies Professional Golf Association or LPGA is recognized as one of the premiere organizations when it comes to golf today.

This American organization encourages and supports all women who are passionate about golf. The LPGA has  grown to include all female golfing enthusiasts around the globe.  The tour is open to qualified female golfers who want to participate in a world class competition all over the country. The Ladies Professional Golf Association headquarters are stationed in Daytona Beach, Florida.


Ladies Professional Golf Association logo

LPGA logo

Although the American league is by far the most popular, the Ladies Professional Golf Association extends all over the world. The group was founded in 1950 and continues to be an active player in the sport. Tournaments are now quite common. The American golfers dominated the wins in the beginning years. Today, more female golf players are participating from different parts of the globe.   As the sport grows in popularity, more women from around the world are winning major events.

As most associations, winners of the Ladies Professional Golf Association tournament are awarded money and prestige. As of the year 2010, the official prize money was $41.4 million, although chances are this prize has increased over the years.

LPGA Annual Awards

There are three distinct annual awards announced by the Ladies Professional Golf Association with regards to their players. Here are they:

LPGA Rolex Player of the Year

This award is given based on a points system with a very specific formula. Awardees are essentially for those players who claim the highest points.  This is based on the top 10 finishes during the four major championships of the LPGA. The point system itself is very simple with the highest placer garnering 30 points and slowly descending to the 10th placer. All these points are added together with the highest pointer given the Rolex Player of the Year Award. In the year 2015, the holder of this award was Lydia Ko from New Zealand.

LPGA Vare Trophy

This is given for the player who has the lowest average in the season, named after Glenna Collett-Vare. In the year 2015, Inbee Park from South Korea took home this trophy.

LPGA Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year Award

This award goes to the first year player who got the highest in points during the Ladies Professional Golf Association tour. Points are limited to those given during the competition where players are awarded based on the rank of their finish. There is a very specific pointing system for this award so that it does not contrast with the Rolex Player of the Year Award. As the title signifies, the award is named after one of the most prominent players of the association. Sei Young Kim from South Korea received this award for 2015.

LPGA Hall of Fame

The association also established a Hall of Fame in1951. It included some of the charter members such as Patty Berg, Babe Zaharias, Louise Suggs, as well as Betty Jameson. It was inactive for a few years. In 1967 it was renamed the LPG Tour Hall of Fame. in 1998, , the award merged and turned into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Upcoming Tournaments

The tournament schedule for 2016 is already up. This gives golf enthusiasts something to plan to see.  Tour members are gearing up for a full year of golf.   Here’s what you should know about the first six months of year 2016:

January 25 to 31, ‘Pure Silk-Bahamas LPGA Classic’ Paradise Island, Bahamas
February 1 to 6, Coates Golf Championship
February 15 to 21, ‘ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open’, Adelaide South Australia
February 22 to 28, Honda LPGA Thailand Chonburi, Thailand
February 29 to March 6, HSBC Women’s Champion Singapore
March 14 to 20, JTBC Founder’s Cup, Phoenix Arizona
March 21 to 27, Kia Classic, Carlsbad
March 28 to April 3, ‘Major ANA Inspiration’ Rancho Mirage
April 10 to 16, LOTTE Championship
April 18 to 24, ‘Swinging Skirts LPGA’ Classic, San Francisco
April 25 to May 1, ‘Volunteers of America’ Texas Shootout Irving, Texas
May 2 to 8, ‘Yokohama Tire’ LPGA Classic
May 16 to 22, Kingsmill Championship
May 23 to 29, ‘LPGA Volvik’ Championship, Ann Arbor
May 30 to Jun 5, ‘Shoprite’ LPGA Classic
June 6 to 12, ‘KPMG Women’s PGA’ Championship
June 13 to 19, Meijer Classic
June 20 to 26, ‘Walmart NW Arkansas’ Championship Rogers
June 27 to July 3, Cambia Portland Classic

The schedule for tournaments from July to December is still not included in the list although LPGA has already posted them through their website.